Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Retirement
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-26-2015, 04:11 PM

17,211 posts, read 57,047,755 times

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serious Conversation View Post
It is sometimes mind-boggling to me how quickly the world has changed not only from when I was a kid myself, but since I've become an adult. When I graduated in 2004, the economy was roaring alone, my family had good jobs, life was pretty easy. In 2008, my dad lost his job and a third of his income. The economy tanked and I was unable to get meaningful employment after college. Dad still hasn't recovered financially, and it took almost four years after college to find professional employment, and I've relocated, twice now, exclusively for work.
Hey, if I read this right, your Dad still had 67% of his income after losing his job. If so, he's doing something seriously right. Please elaborate.

The vast majority of us, I think, would be down into single digit % of income without our respective jobs (at least the ones that are still working)!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-26-2015, 04:17 PM
mlb

4,971 posts, read 4,449,272 times
62 in less than 2 months. Planning on leaving the workforce when I hit 65.

I started dragging my spouse to retirement seminars in our mid-40's....and I thought we were on the late-start side, until we saw the number of folks in their late 50's and 60's at those very same seminars - STARTING to think about saving.

Old 08-26-2015, 04:20 PM

14,376 posts, read 18,364,716 times