Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Rhode Island
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-20-2009, 11:50 AM

2 posts, read 11,575 times

Advertisements

I have been working in Middletown, RI for 15 years. I'm single with no children, so school system has no bearing on my decision. I have rented in Rhode Island for most of my adult life and am more than familiar with RI politics, economy, etc.

This is my year to buy! I am looking for a condo or small house (~$250K) My problem is where do I buy??? I have been never lived close to work and have been doing a 80+ commute for a long time now. My ideal scenario would be to buy something closer to Middletown but the personal/property taxes are so high in Rhode Island compared to Massachusetts!

Does anyone know if you are "double taxed" if you live in MA but work in RI? From everything I've read, it is much more tax friendly in Massachusetts and I could live in a border town like Seekonk or Swansea.

I will be a first time home owner and any advice would be great! Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-20-2009, 03:47 PM

9,290 posts, read 14,899,623 times
Have you taken into consideration what it costs you to commute- both in terms of gas, other car expenses, and personal time? Who knows how much gas will go up again? If it were me, I'd buy close to the job and even if the annual taxes were slightly higher, I'd consider it well worth the trade off. Also, if you buy under 250K the difference is not going to be huge in taxes bet. here and MA. Even 1k would be offset by car expense.