Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-12-2008, 06:55 AM

146 posts, read 641,540 times

Advertisements

I am a new teacher of adults in a college setting. I teach a class that is required but many of the students in the administrative support degree program would prefer not to take.

Many of the students come to class with a bad attitude and wish that they did not have to be there. The defense mechanism of many of the students is to show a look of boredom or have that smirk on their face that says, " who is this fool talking in front of me?"

I do everything I can to make the class interesting but you can not please everyone.

Teachers: how do you deal with bored looking and students with a smirk?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-12-2008, 07:11 AM

1,280 posts, read 4,340,132 times
Try dancing and singing? sorry I work with smaller age groups .. ahhhhhhh I prefer my little guys .. good luck

I do not know what class you are referring to but the college I went to we were made to take a "HOW TO STUDY AND SUCCEED At College" ..and I was upset about this class .. it was a more of a get to know myself class - personally I felt it was a waste of my time and money .... but in the end I had a good teacher that helped me in other areas.

Old 08-12-2008, 07:32 AM

5,384 posts, read 10,867,628 times