Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Canada > Toronto
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-14-2015, 09:21 PM

1 posts, read 1,570 times

Advertisements

Hello all,

I am a recent college graduate (2013) from the University of Michigan and I have a Bachelor's degree in English. My boyfriend is a Masters student from France who is moving to Toronto in February on a work or study visa (can't remember which) for an internship at the university there.

Now the question: how can I relocate to Toronto?

I know I need a work visa. I have prepared a resume and have been sending it out to entry level writing positions and marketing positions found on Kijiji. So far, no bites. I also have a lot of restaurant experience and would be happy to take a waitressing position somewhere - but the bottom line is that any place that hires me is going to have to presumably wait and sponsor (i.e. provide a letter that they are accepting me to a position with them) me on my visa application.

How can I increase my luck here? I'm desperate to move and want to do it as soon as possible.

Would it be a good idea to try and apply when I am in the city, i.e. in person, to restaurants or other places looking for help?

Finally, a shameless plug, if anyone has any connections to help me along my way, I'm happy to provide my resume.

Please and thank you!!
Tess
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-16-2015, 08:02 PM

50 posts, read 183,432 times
You will never get a working Canadian visa. Sorry to be so blunt but I'm saving you a lot of time.