Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > District of Columbia > Washington, DC
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-27-2010, 07:44 PM

14 posts, read 27,517 times

Advertisements

Hi there,

I am a student who is considering to move to DC for grad school at George Washington University. I am single, 20s, Chinese American. I hear people say that it is pretty hard to meet people.. Will it be hard for me to make friends outside of school?

I am also consider Salt Lake City in Utah. Which one will be the bigger adjustment from California? What are the pros and cons for moving to DC?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-27-2010, 08:01 PM

16,257 posts, read 43,176,087 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by calswim View Post
Hi there,

I am a student who is considering to move to DC for grad school at George Washington University. I am single, 20s, Chinese American. I hear people say that it is pretty hard to meet people.. Will it be hard for me to make friends outside of school?

I am also consider Salt Lake City in Utah. Which one will be the bigger adjustment from California? What are the pros and cons for moving to DC?
You'll be so busy in grad school...you'll probably socialize and have all your friends right there. I wouldn't worry so much about making friends outside of school, not sure where you'd find time to do so anyways. If you did, probably would be with roommate situation or something like that.