Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > District of Columbia > Washington, DC
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-08-2010, 12:02 AM

5 posts, read 10,987 times

Advertisements

I'm due to graduate from undergrad in May, and as living with my family here in Dallas is driving all of us insane, am now looking to get out as soon as I graduate. I lived in DC from 2008-2009, foolishly thinking I could finish my degree (a mere 9 hours) online and to intern on Capitol Hill and look for jobs/paid internships to hold me over until I graduated. No dice. I had to move back home this past August, re-enroll in school, and have been missing the city ever since.

Considering that I know what went wrong last time (poor planning, poor budgeting, laziness, little to no networking, etc), I think I could manage a second try at living in DC, but I definitely need some advice from people who have been living there for years. I have a little money coming to me from school in a couple weeks, most of which I'm going to hang on to and save for the move. I also have a couple p/t job prospects lined up that will help with the saving, but I'd like to have a sound game plan for surviving the unemployed period (hoping it won't be too long).

The first time I lived there, food service was beneath me, sad to say, and by the time I realized it shouldn't have been, it was too late to find anything. I'm not making that mistake again. Also, I'm planning to join a couple professional associations in my field based in DC, and hope they will help me find something.