Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-09-2012, 11:14 AM

Location: where people are either too stupid to leave or too stuck to move
3,982 posts, read 6,688,188 times

Advertisements

I see that jobs require relevant work experience, but my friend seems to think that working anywhere will be worth enough experience to get a job. so i work in retail or as a waitress how is that going to help me get a real career? is any kind of experience better than an unemployment gap?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-09-2012, 12:16 PM

3,670 posts, read 7,163,903 times
i doubt it. if you have a gap you could have been traveling or taking a break or doing some other enriching activity with your time voluntarily. if you worked full time as a waitress then that makes it clear that thats the best job you were able to get, which looks bad on your part. i have a short period where i was working a menial job and i prefer to leave it as a gap (not that it matters now two years later). if your unemployment gap is going on 6 mos+, though, you need to volunteer in something relevant to your field or something

Old 05-09-2012, 02:12 PM

1,167 posts, read 2,170,476 times
Unless it's another retail place, people don't seem to care about retail xp.

Old 05-09-2012, 02:26 PM

5,522 posts, read 10,199,083 times
Actually, conversely, the wrong experience can destroy your resume.