Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-24-2014, 02:27 PM

4 posts, read 8,200 times

Advertisements

Hello,

I am a permanent resident with a 2mth old green card. I am 40yo, but I always get told I look like I'm in my early 20's. Originally born and raised in Mexico City, I live in southern New Jersey and have family here. I have a Bachelor's Degree in International Relations from Universidad Iberoamericana, a well-known university in Mexico City. I don't do drugs, etc, and hold no criminal record.

I have worked as an Assistant Manager for a bridal shop that my parents own. Before that, I periodically helped manage a restaurant that they opened until it had to close. Before officially moving, I was an Operations Agent for American Airlines for 8 years.

Within the past 3 months, I have applied to 50+ jobs in which I felt I either qualified for, or at least had a shot at. I filled out assessments to the best of my abilities, actually they were pretty easy. I refined my resume to the most professionally looking, and I included a cover letter for most positions that allowed me to attach such files. These jobs include management, waiting tables, grocery, retail, sales, telemarketing, paralegal, and Wash D.C. & NYC Political jobs that look for my specific degree study.

Out of the 50+ jobs I applied to, only 6 have responded to schedule an interview.