Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-19-2014, 04:47 AM

1,373 posts, read 2,958,059 times

Advertisements

I have a skill & hobby and for the first time I have found some one to pay for my services. They have me as a freelancer & now they want me on their website. Here is my thing, first of all I like my privacy & being a freelancer I have no clue how long this relationship will last so I do not want the hussle of asking them to take me off their website once the project is finished. Up until now they want me working there about 3 hours a week for 2 months. Besides for the 3 hours a week they have me over there I feel I do not owe them anything. I''m not an employee. So I do not want to be on their website but I do not know how to say no and still come out of it looking like a professional. For privacy reasons I wont say what the gig is. But based on the info I gave I would appreciate any advice.

Any ideas how I can refuse diplomatically?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-19-2014, 06:18 AM

24,665 posts, read 69,703,004 times
"As much as I'm enjoying my association with your company and hope it will continue, I have a little conflict with your request to include my name on the company website at this time and prefer to decline. Thanks so much for your understanding ..."

That shouldn't ruffle any feathers and if they push the issue you can tell them verbally exactly what you've said in your post. Good luck with the position!

Old 03-19-2014, 07:08 AM

12,108 posts, read 23,281,885 times