Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-27-2015, 08:35 PM

4,232 posts, read 6,910,410 times

Advertisements

I'm 31 years old, and have worked for the same employer since I graduated in 2007. I work as a mechanical engineer for a large engineering construction company. I've been very happy with my direct-report management, the pay is top notch for my industry, the benefits are outstanding and I have learned a lot. But for two reasons, I am looking for a change.

1) I am ready to move on to a new city. My company has a lot of other offices, but none where I am currently interested in living.

2) I am at a point where I feel I am locking myself in to only work for mega eng/construction companies if I stay on this path. There is a slightly different experience and skill-set at the smaller to medium sized companies that I have no exposure to. I'd like to round out my resume and experience to make me more versatile for my career.

I realize it could be a total bust. I could end up not liking a new city or hating a new job. Switching to smaller / medium sized companies will almost certainly lead to a faster paced environment with the potential that my work life balance is thrown off which would be a bummer because that is important to me (I work hard, but I work to live, not live to work). But I also feel like I need to try this just to see.