Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-03-2016, 01:39 PM

2 posts, read 886 times

Advertisements

I graduated college in 2014 with a degree in atmospheric science and I been searching where I can apply for job related to this field. National Weather Service are on a hiring freeze I last heard but I just cannot think of any other place that would have jobs related to this field. I currently work at a moderate size company as a contractor doing tech support using MySQL, some programming, building scripts and so on. It seems California where I currently live do not have many jobs in atmospheric science. It so frustrating because I find this job very boring. Same thing each day, nothing exciting like the weather where it something new everyday or study how air quality changed over period of time. I just want to do something I really enjoy doing because when I enjoy it, I excel at it. I just don't know how to get out of this horrible ditch. I just don't know what do next. I'm thinking maybe I should look for science jobs outside of the US and maybe try Europe or Australia.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-04-2016, 06:42 PM

551 posts, read 583,026 times
Would you be willing to relocate?

That will have a big impact on what kinds of jobs you can find. Then there's this regarding schools:

NWS JetStream - Careers in the National Weather Service