Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-10-2016, 12:48 PM

65 posts, read 64,571 times

Advertisements

I'm at a point in my life where I feel like I need a career change. I currently work in the IT field and have lost my passion for it. While I do enjoy helping people, I feel like I am ready for a new challenge and change in work. I have recently grown curious about the recruiting and onboarding process, as well as motivating and helping people with issues they have at work.

My degree is in Business Administration, so I'm curious to know how I would go about changing over to Human Resources? How would I go about applying for HR jobs when all my previous work experience has been in IT?

One thought I had was to ask my current place of employment's HR office to allow me to shadow them or help them out during my lunch break, so that I could at least somehow put that on my resume.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-10-2016, 01:48 PM

20,770 posts, read 20,010,846 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by testmike View Post
I'm at a point in my life where I feel like I need a career change. I currently work in the IT field and have lost my passion for it. While I do enjoy helping people, I feel like I am ready for a new challenge and change in work. I have recently grown curious about the recruiting and onboarding process, as well as motivating and helping people with issues they have at work.