Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-19-2010, 04:13 AM

25,386 posts, read 35,579,593 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I'm a chemistry teacher with a masters degree in chemical engineering and I'm looking to get back into engineering. Does anyone have any advice for getting started on a job search in the Metro Detroit area? I know it's not what you know it's who you know and I've been out of the loop for a while. I'm finding that websites are just full of people like me. Anyone had any luck finding an engineering job in this job market? If so, what did you do to find it? Any recommendations on starting to network?

Also I need recommendations on how to explain my two years in teaching. It was intended to be a career change back when I believed the state school board when they said we had a, severe, shortage of math and chemistry teachers. Turns out we have a glut. I'm finding that being NEEDED to teach was a big part of my wanting to teach. Also with there being a glut, it makes little sense to take the several years it would take to turn someone like me into a good teacher when you can simply hire one off the street who is already seasoned. I know if I were making the hiring decisions, that's what I'd do.