Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Alaska
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-16-2007, 09:36 AM

7 posts, read 34,234 times

Advertisements

I am a nursing student in NC but upon graduation would possibly like to take the Alaska certification exam and move up there for several years.

Is Alaska a decent place to find nursing jobs?
How is the pay?
Where are the best cities to look for health care jobs/live in?
What's the weather actually like?
Is it a decent place to raise a family?
What about outdoor activities? I hike/camp/sea kayak/canoe/snow ski and would like a place that offers that...
Is travel within the cities okay?
What about the cost of living?
Are there state taxes?

Sorry for all the questions; I'm torn between Alaska and Colorado right now...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-16-2007, 09:41 AM

8,440 posts, read 13,432,982 times
What area of nursing do you hope to specialize in? Alaska can't offer everything Denver or The Springs already do.

Old 08-16-2007, 11:03 AM

7 posts, read 34,234 times
I'm actually planning on getting my master's and becoming a nurse practitioner; probably just a basic family one if I don't decide to specialize in oncology.

Old 08-16-2007, 01:43 PM

23 posts, read 143,187 times
Definitely try out Alaska first, what an adventure -- you can always go "safe" and move to a place with big cities like Colorado if Alaska doesn't work out. It would be much harder to do it the other way around, in my humble opinion.

Old 08-17-2007, 12:58 AM

1,677 posts, read 6,441,429 times
Quote: