Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-22-2007, 09:59 AM

7 posts, read 44,077 times

Advertisements

Hi all! I'm a mid-twenties single professional in the tech industry (yes, another one of those :P) in Silicon Valley, CA, and I am thinking of moving to the Austin area in about a year. The reason, which is probably so common to many CA'ers moving out of state is that the house is no longer affordable for even people with good paying jobs. I make almost in the six figure range, and it's hard to even afford a tiny condo here with that (what is wrong with this picture?). If I had bought a house here, I would probably only get the garage--or even worse--the half bathroom lol.

Anyways, I have been perusing around the web sites and came across Pflugerville as a potential candidate for my next "hometown". I am sure a lot of information has already been posted all over the Austin forum, but I couldn't find a centralized location for it. What do you guys think about Pflugerville? Is it too far from Austin downtown? Pros and cons of living in Pflugerville (above and beyond the usual cons in Austin area like hotness and bugs). Any alternative towns I should look at? Oh and since I am completely new to the area, if you could point out the areas around Austin to avoid living that would be great also. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-22-2007, 01:04 PM

654 posts, read 1,910,472 times