Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Automotive
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-12-2012, 01:42 PM

3,515 posts, read 7,785,595 times

Advertisements

I have always owned every car I ever had. My wife has mostly leased her cars, so I'm kinda new to the leasing process. The last car we leased, we put $3,000 down, but it was a luxury car, so I guess I wasn't too surprised. Our finances have changed and the next car (not a luxury car) I would really prefer not to put any money down. Now I see advertisements all the time, lease for $79 a month, but buried in the fine print they want $5,000 down. So the question is it possible to lease a car with nothing down. I realize the higher costs would be rolled into the lease payments.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-12-2012, 01:48 PM

6,116 posts, read 12,605,988 times
Yes, in fact, that is the preferred (by many) way to lease. Trying money up (down payment) in a lease is counterproductive to the value of leasing, in my opinion (and may others).

I've leased 10+ cars and have put minimal money down every time. I normally put down 1st payment, doc fee and registration down only. Sometimes I have them roll everything except 1st payment.

Old 03-12-2012, 01:49 PM

oh, by the way, in before all the "omfg leasing is a scam why the f*** would you ever lease you idiot" comments.

Old 03-12-2012, 01:50 PM

3,135 posts, read 11,897,594 times
Absolutely, it's the only way I lease cars.