Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Alabama > Birmingham area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-17-2017, 05:18 PM

508 posts, read 615,653 times

Advertisements

What are major differences and similarities in your opinion? I've only been to Huntsville twice, while growing up in Birmingham. I'm not an expert at all.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-17-2017, 05:40 PM

1,716 posts, read 1,982,681 times
This is an interesting debate (Justin finally brings one). Just kidding Justin.

To deny a small rivalry exists between the two is burying your head in the sand IMO. Birmingham is the typical superior big brother who gotten complacent, Huntsville the inferior little one with a fire in his belly. Birmingham is in the fractured, fighting among itself, too-big-to fail mode, while Huntsville is very united and growing. Birmingham is rooted in old money, Huntsville has a newer, thriving economy investing in the 'new' economy (or, it WAS new, all the government contracting and stuff). It's not a super-tech hub like some other places. IN GENERAL, Birmingham has a lot of old historic stuff while Huntsville is seemingly an endless trip mall full of chain restaurants. All this stuff is very general, so nobody get butthurt and think that it's all that way (I know the Huntsvillians will be here soon to defend the honor).