Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-29-2013, 08:23 PM

12 posts, read 16,466 times

Advertisements

I'm new to this forum, so forgive me if I break any rules!

So I'm a Virginia resident, and I'm going to be moving in late summer to the Los Angeles area. I've been all over California before and I'm confident that I want to live there permanently.

I was going to go to community college there, and then transfer to a UC. I can afford out-of-state tuition for the community college, but I'll need in-state tuition if I want to get my bachelor's.

My problem is that my parents will be paying for the bulk of my living expenses until I graduate, and they'll still be based in Virginia, which is apparently a no-no. Can that be overlooked if I am living there year-round, have a job and go to school there, and immediately change my driver's license, insurance, bank, etc. to California?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-29-2013, 08:29 PM

8,452 posts, read 15,046,521 times
Residency requirements are very strict. Doesn't look good for that plan. Here's the rules for UCSD, but they're the same for all UC's:

Criteria to Establish Residence for Tuition Purposes

Old 03-29-2013, 08:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightlysparrow View Post
Residency requirements are very strict. Doesn't look good for that plan. Here's the rules for UCSD, but they're the same for all UC's:

Criteria to Establish Residence for Tuition Purposes