U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Cell Phones and Smartphones
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
 
Old 11-17-2015, 12:13 PM
 
Location: Not where you ever lived
11,544 posts, read 27,453,566 times
Reputation: 6341

Advertisements

Sprint, Boost, Freedompop, Net10, are Verizon resellers. Here is a list of all. You will see two types of network: GSM(AT&T) and CDMA (Verizon). The network technology is not the same. Therefore an AT&T phone does not/cannot work on the Verizon network. Also unless you are a LTE custormer, you may well be on Verizon's slower 2G or 3G network.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...work_operators

Isolated areas are very different. I've lived in them for many years. I currently live 50 miles from any town of size yet we have cell service from US Cellular, Sprint, Verizon and AT&T. All work here with few if any problems. However, when I frequently traveled across these United States I became painfully aware of areas that only had one cellular service.
Rate this post positively Quick reply to this message

 
Old 11-19-2015, 03:06 AM
 
10,685 posts, read 11,545,007 times
Reputation: 5863
Quote:
Originally Posted by linicx View Post
Sprint, Boost, Freedompop, Net10, are Verizon resellers.
I agree that Net10 is a Verizon reseller, but not the other three.

Not all the Verizon resellers have access to LTE.
  1. Straight Talk CDMA, LTE straighttalk.com
  2. Page Plus Cellular CDMA, LTE pagepluscellular.com
  3. Selectel Wireless CDMA, LTE selectelwireless.com
  4. Flash Wireless CDMA, LTE flashwireless.com
  5. FamilyTalk Wireless CDMA familytalkwireless.com
  6. NET10 Wireless CDMA net10wireless.com
  7. TotalWireless CDMA totalwireless.com
  8. Affinity Cellular CDMA affinitycellular.com
  9. Armed Forces Wireless CDMA armedforceswireless.com
  10. envie mobile CDMA envie mobile
  11. GreatCall CDMA greatcall.com
  12. OTG Mobile CDMA otgm.net
  13. Proven Wireless CDMA provenwireless.com
  14. Puppy Wireless CDMA mypuppywireless.com
  15. Red Pocket Mobile CDMA goredpocket.com
  16. Infinium Wireless CDMA infiniumwireless.com

Last edited by PacoMartin; 11-19-2015 at 03:15 AM..
Rate this post positively Quick reply to this message
 
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:
Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Cell Phones and Smartphones

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2021, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top