Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S. > City vs. City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-19-2010, 12:18 PM

21 posts, read 92,851 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I'm currently living in Pittsburgh, PA but I'm planning to move out of PA. One option is to go to Texas. I have an advanced degree in Computer Science. A place that seems to have jobs for that area is Austin, TX

Can anyone comment on how similar/different/better/worse are Austin and Pittsburgh? For instance in the following areas:
  • Job opportunities in Tech jobs
  • Singles scene (I'm in my thirties)
  • Cost of living, and economy in general
  • Weather
  • Scenery
  • Friendliness
  • Other: Skyline?
Thanks in advance

P.S. Feel free to suggest another TX city (please don't suggest places outside TX) if you think there are also good opportunities for my professional career.

Last edited by markrj; 12-19-2010 at 12:27 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-19-2010, 04:56 PM

1,000 posts, read 2,351,254 times
I pretty much tried the exact same thing two years ago after graduation...however, I'm in education and PA is about as good as it gets for teachers so that idea fell apart immediately when I lucked out and got an offer to teach in SWPA. My advice is this: Don't move until you know for sure that you have a job. If you have something around here, well...that's better than moving half a continent away and finding out that you can't land a job.