Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S. > City vs. City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-12-2021, 07:39 PM

483 posts, read 1,223,842 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone.

My SO and I are considering a move, we are an early 30s, currently residing in Miami. Our main gripe with Miami is the cost of living compared to the wages, and lack of growth opportunities. Our combined salaries are around $125,000/year. I work in IT, Windows server admin and SQL, she works in clinical research. While a lot of people are really trying to push for the "next Silicon Valley" thing that has been circling around here in Miami, right now there isn't much and honestly I'd be surprised if anything ever came of it. I feel quite limited in my field here. Every job that I find that seems perfect for me is a significant pay cut. Offering like $47k/year for a sysadmin job that requires experience and intricate knowledge of certain systems seems ridiculous to me.

She feels the same way. Companies are making cuts due to COVID and removing benefits, raises, etc. We both kind of feel stuck. High rent, low wages.

We are currently paying $2200 for a 1bed/2bath apartment. We are looking to settle down permanently (or mostly permanent at least) somewhere in the next few years and buy a home. Here in Miami, for ~$300,000 you won't get a whole lot unless you're way out from downtown, looking at a 1hr+ commute. Even then, it's not going to be a nice place.