Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-25-2011, 10:18 AM

8,003 posts, read 11,731,263 times

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by loloroj View Post
Please tell me what job exists where you're not asked to think critically? More so, tell me which jobs which demand a college degree don't demand critical thinking, and the capacity to articulate the results of that thinking. I worked as an accountant, and that required a college degree. We were constantly asked to interpret clients situations and then apply their circumstances to the tax code or to FASB's. Constantly. The skills that were need were critical thinking and articulation. Your response is baffling, critical thinking and articulation are the bedrocks of any career skill you may need coming out of college. I suppose if you work at a routinized job where there is no need to think then I guess what you claim is applicable. But then what the hell are you going to college in the first place?