Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-01-2011, 07:50 PM

83 posts, read 247,628 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone,

I've been lurking this forum for a while and you guys seem very knowledgeable so maybe you can answer a question I have regarding the CPA Exam.

I'm currently an undergraduate student at UNLV and I hope to finish my bachelor's degree in accounting by next year. I know there is a 150-credit requirement in Nevada to sit for the CPA exam, so I was wondering if I should go for the MBA or just take the rest of the classes at the CC.

My dilemma is that UNLV is not a great school and it keeps getting more expensive every semester. Also, since I obtained a bookkeeper certificate from a CC before deciding to go for the bachelor's degree I'm probably going to have around 130 credits by the time I graduate.

So what would be the smartest choice?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-02-2011, 10:19 PM

4,666 posts, read 5,116,559 times
If you want to get into counsulting or management get the MBA. If you want to stick to auditing and reviewing financial records take some additional course and go for the CPA. If you go the route of the CPA take some courses in marketing and or economics to broaden your knowledge plus some accounting courses to stay sharp.

Old 05-02-2011, 10:40 PM

25,146 posts, read 54,051,333 times
Take an extra business administration class or get a management certificate. Nobody cares for MBAs. Employers want experience only.

Old 05-02-2011, 10:49 PM