Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-23-2011, 09:22 PM

303 posts, read 396,468 times

Advertisements

I graduated from SMU in 2008 and am currently working towards a teaching certificate. I'm preparing to do the THEA/ATC and wondered - what would be the most desirable sub-certification to have - Sped or ESL? Also, where's the area of most dire need within the DFW metroplex? For any teachers that may be listening, is relocation to find that first job a common occurrence? Ideally, I'd like to stay within the metroplex. I've been here all of my life, and I don't know if I could survive anywhere else in the state besides here and Austin. I know DISD isn't hiring, :/ but perhaps the other districts are.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-23-2011, 09:55 PM

37,315 posts, read 59,895,840 times
have you read a newspaper or listened to the news recently--the past 4 months have been about the educational shortfall in the state's budget for the next two years--
districts across the state are going to face drastic reduction in the money the state gives them to run their schools
there might be some federal money coming but that has not been settled yet
currently districts are NOT looking for teachers--they are taking teachers they anticipate having to RIF/layoff and putting them into a pool--any jobs that need to be replaced with happen with those teachers first--