Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Celebrating Memorial Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-04-2014, 11:47 AM

9,727 posts, read 14,271,125 times

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by aquietpath View Post
I appreciate expert advice, but I don't discount some of the old timers tips on growing things. My grandfather was an Italian immigrant who was a landscaper by trade. He probably didn't go past 6th grade, but his yard was like the garden of Eden. It was a magical place - rose arbors, grape arbors, fruit trees and flowers everywhere. His vegetable garden was filled to bursting each season. My visits to his home sparked my lifelong interest and love of gardening.

I admit I have a special fondness of old wives tales when it comes to gardening. I'll give them a try over the use of chemicals any day. But I do respect new scientific knowledge when presented, and will certainly give them my consideration. Just please don't try to shove your "facts" down my throat after you have made your point.
Yes, Bravo! That is an excellent post, aquietpath!