Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > South Carolina > Myrtle Beach - Conway area
 [Register]
Myrtle Beach - Conway area Horry County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-06-2014, 10:19 PM

16 posts, read 37,910 times

Advertisements

Hi there guys. It's me back again and yes I have relocated and I'm now a resident of Myrtle Beach, SC. {the crowd goes wild} Thank you thank you. All kidding aside I love it here, should have done this years and years ago.

The house I bought for $130k in my great and well kept community would have cost me $350k back in northern california. My $500 summer electric bill is down to $220. $300 for the rest of the utilities down to $100. Gas is down from $4.89 a gallon to $3.16. Entertainment is always a few miles away and I haven't been bored since I got here. The smiling happy faces and all of the above make me think maybe I died and just haven't figured it out yet. Kidding there too.

I only have one question HOW CAN YOU AFFORD TO EAT?!!!!!!

Seriously. What is going on that is causing the food to be so high out here? My monthly grocery bill is more than my mortgage, electricity and month of gas. It cost me about $250-300 in California to feed two people, out here almost $900. What gives? Is it the union thing or something politically motivated? It it just that the Grand Strand is beach towns dialed in to alleviate the mass weight of our tourists' wallets? What is it? Serious question.