Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-27-2014, 07:56 PM

2 posts, read 3,002 times

Advertisements

Hello! I am new to NOVA and have a few questions if someone might be able to help.

1. I lived in MD where I work for 2 months before I moved to NOVA. During that time I had to purchase a new car and it was registered in MD at my temporary address because I hadn't found a place to live yet. Now that I am in VA, will I get hit with the excise tax on the car when I go to register it? Does it need to be registered or can I hang with the MD plates until they expire?

2. Since the car was purchased brand new in MD, will I need to have an emissions test done in VA before I register it?

Any help would really be appreciated. Thank you!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-28-2014, 07:11 AM

15,436 posts, read 25,826,444 times
I'm not sure about number 2, but for number 1, if you paid the tax in MD then you shouldn't get hit with it again in VA.

Old 04-28-2014, 07:57 AM

526 posts, read 901,281 times
I'm pretty sure you will have to get your car emission-tested.

Old 04-28-2014, 08:09 AM

2,765 posts, read 8,331,422 times