Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-29-2010, 05:30 PM

2 posts, read 9,675 times

Advertisements

I have a problem. I am a Maryland resident, however, I rent an apartment in Arlington to live at a few days of the week to help with my commute. My car is registered in my name and my mom's (who also lives in Maryland), and I park it in my apartment parking garage a few days a week. When I first moved here I asked about registering my car and I was told I did not need to.

Today I received a letter in the mail from Arlington County saying I need to register my car for $25 + a $100 fee a year. That's not bad. What is killing me is I now need to pay a 5% personal property tax a year on my car when I am not a Virginia resident. I do not want to transfer my car to Virginia because I may not need to continue to live here within the next year, and my mom is on the car and lives in Maryland.

Is there anyway around this?!? They gave me a whopping 10 days to figure this out.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-29-2010, 08:28 PM

4,709 posts, read 12,675,888 times
I hate to tell you, but unless you're in the military....renting an apartment in VA makes you a resident.

Arlington is the absolute worst place around here to try to evade registration laws....and if you park it in an apartment parking garage, you don't have a prayer. Either the landlord ratted you out....or Mr O'Leary's (Arl Co Treasurer) people cruised the garage.