Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Canada > Ottawa-Gatineau
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-11-2015, 08:02 PM

5 posts, read 14,359 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone I'm a student from Ireland studying business economics, as part of my course I do a year abroad at one of my universities partner universities of which I picked Carleton in Ottawa and I had a few questions as I'm stressing about my decision.
From what I have read a lot of people say that Ottawa doesn't really have an existing night life compared to the big cities such as Toronto and Montreal, I'm quite a sociable person and enjoy going out for the night but I was wondering if I will really notice the difference ? As in my life I have lived in Belfast and Swansea both of which even compared to Ottawa are relatively small cities with populations around the 300,000 mark.
My second question would be is there a lot to do in Ottawa ? I would like visit a lot of places while I'm on my year abroad and was wondering is there a lot of places to visit in and around Ottawa ?
Quick reply to this message

Old 02-11-2015, 08:48 PM

26,899 posts, read 38,201,843 times
See my post number 35 on here for a sampling of some of the things to see and do. This is just a snapshot BTW.

https://www.city-data.com/forum/world...rs-your-4.html

Ottawa is also 2 hours from Montreal, 4 from Quebec City, 5 from Toronto, 6 from Niagara Falls, 7 from New York City, similar distance to Boston and a bit further to Washington.