Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Parenting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-26-2009, 01:32 PM

2,969 posts, read 6,948,592 times

Advertisements

I am not a parent, but I am a high school teacher and am looking for feedback. I posted this in the education forum, but I thought I would post it here to get some more input from a parent's perspective. Here's the original post:

Last night was our first round of parent teacher conferences. They went from 4-8 pm. Out of the 187 students I teach this semester, I had a grand total of 1 parent show up!! Of course, this is a good student and she is currently receiving a B in my class. I spent the rest of the evening calling and emailing parents of the students failing my classes. (about 30)

I arrive at school this morning and I received no voice mails or emails responding to my concerns.

I am sitting here today on this Friday morning before work begins, dead tired, and wondering why parents are so disinterested..............

So that was last Thursday night. I have gotten one response back from a parent. The rest haven't bothered to call or email me back, even though their child is failing. We have the last round of conferences tonight, and I am hoping some of them show up. But I'm not counting on it.

So parents of teenagers I ask you........do you attend parent teacher conferences? Why or why not? Does it make a difference what the subject is or if your child is failing?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-26-2009, 01:47 PM

24,012 posts, read 28,481,058 times