Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Personal Finance
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-16-2011, 07:43 AM

7 posts, read 114,339 times

Advertisements

Hey Everyone,

I have another post out there with a mortgage question but I didn't want to hijack my own post. My question here (mind you I'm VERY new to home-owning), is how much can I expect to have loaned from the bank for buying a house?

I know that there's a lot of factors that play into figuring this out, but I'm trying to gauge out the the price range that my job/lifestyle can afford so I can start looking at houses.

I'm 22, have an annual salary of 44k, credit score of 731 and live in Amherst, Massachusetts.

Houses in this area range from 200k - 800k. Can I live here in the near future? What should I be doing to prepare for buying a house?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-16-2011, 07:51 AM

4,564 posts, read 10,967,896 times
Well, there are a lot of factors and you can always go in and get pre-qualified - that way you know what you have to work with.

It's been over 12 years since we last bought our house, so I imagine things are way, way different now! But at the time, we were qualified for way more than I ever would have been comfortable with. Not wanting to be house poor, we bought well below what they would have loaned us.

Old 06-16-2011, 08:00 AM

98 posts, read 239,522 times
Here are rule of thumbs I've heard when it comes to how much mortgage loan to borrow so you won't be house poor:

1. mortgage to be 2-3 times of income