Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Phoenix area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-19-2017, 05:12 PM

47 posts, read 98,728 times

Advertisements

Hi All,

As we are narrowing down our house purchase we are also beginning to discuss planting mature shade trees to help keep the house cooler.

I am just beginning my research and wanted to see if anyone has gone through this process/project?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts/opinions!
J
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-19-2017, 05:40 PM

4,069 posts, read 5,140,766 times
I would recommend using native trees and planting them away from the house. Most of the nurseries around know what grows and doesn't grow here. I think Moon Valley usually has package deals.

Old 06-19-2017, 05:43 PM

47 posts, read 98,728 times
I saw that Moon Valley site; seems very comprehensive - I figured I'd start there when the comes time.

And yes I will be doing native trees.

J

Old 06-19-2017, 06:36 PM

4,598 posts, read 6,352,889 times
Trees Native to Arizona (below 4,500 feet)

velvet mesquite (Prosopis velutina)
screwbean mesquite (Prosopis pubescens)
desert ironwood (Olneya tesota)
cat claw acacia (Acacia greggii)
white thorn acacia (Acacia constricta)
netleaf hackberry (Celtis laevigata var. reticulata)
foothills palo verde (Parkinsonia microphylla)
blue palo verde (Parkinsonia florida)
desert willow (Chilopsis linearis)

link