Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-26-2012, 06:38 PM

10,379 posts, read 10,661,869 times

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by fivecrazykitties View Post
We are considering moving to Pittsburgh to retire in the not to near future. I work in the health field so I need to stay close (for commuting) to the city but I don't want to live in the city. What are some good neighborhoods outside the city limits to consider? I'm in the market for homes priced ~$150k, low taxes but in a decent school district (for resale valve), average community income $60K-100K. I would like to avoid homes in communities that have associations.
thanks
Catherine
Quote:
Thanks for the comments. But I don't want to be in the city limits, Allegheny county. We have been search Westmoreland county. Any thoughts on that area?
Quote:
looking at the different real estate sites & city-data.com, Westmoreland county seems to offer the most for the money I am willing to spend. thanks for the heads up about traffic. Being I am still in the research stage and don't know where I will be employed, downtown Pittsburgh is a central point of reference. I'm currently driving 50+mins to go 20 miles. Traffic will suck no matter where I live being a need to be near a city for work.
Quote:
I want a home to retire in. than gas prices won't be an issue. why not live outside of the county?