Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary
 [Register]
Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary The Triangle Area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-14-2021, 04:52 AM

2 posts, read 1,794 times

Advertisements

I have decided to take back my life and move to North Carolina. I'm nervous because this is my first attempt to leave New York. Any advice, what should I expect from NC besides the heat?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-14-2021, 04:58 AM

231 posts, read 234,248 times
https://www.city-data.com/forum/rale...des-local.html

Old 02-14-2021, 06:41 AM

2,443 posts, read 2,868,726 times
OP this forum is full of advice and info. We moved from NY to Raleigh along with thousands of others. And those others brought their pizza and bagel making skills with them. You will be fine.

Old 02-14-2021, 07:49 AM

20 posts, read 18,905 times
I moved to NC from NY two years ago (only one of the years counts though because the second year has been in lock down!). It was my first time living anywhere but NY. I thought it would be a big adjustment, but it was pretty easy. Like many others, I miss the foods NY is famous for, but other than that, I don't miss much. The people here are really nice and will actually engage with you even in casual situations. The pace is slower, the roads are better, and because there are so many newcomers, it's easy to meet people. I'm a lot less stressed than I was in NY as well. Good luck to you. I'm sure you'll have a great experience here.

Old 02-14-2021, 09:13 AM