Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Relationships
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-20-2012, 08:34 PM

16 posts, read 140,487 times

Advertisements

I've been dating my boyfriend for about 1.5 years now. We live about 1 hour from each other and have been seeing each other when we can for as long as we've been dating. He is the only guy I've ever dated. Recently though, I've been feeling unhappy and guilty.

I'm a full time college student right now. I also work part-time and I'm involved activities and clubs on campus. This takes up a lot of my time and I feel guilty that I don't have a lot of time to spend with my boyfriend.

At first the distance was managable. We alternated coming visiting each other when we could. I was handling it well up until now. The strain of it is really wearing me down and I'm not sure if I can or want to stay with him. I've tried organizing time together, but sometimes our plans fall through because of my schedule and this leaves my boyfriend upset. I feel like he loves me more than I love him, and this makes me feel extremely selfish. Right now he sees us married in the future, and I think at almost 21 years old it's too much. I feel like it's too soon to feel tied down, and I'm not ready for that.

He will be transferring to a new college next semester, putting us even farther away and I don't know how things will work once this happens. I feel like I should end things soon and be honest about my feelings the next time we're together.