Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Sarasota - Bradenton - Venice area
 [Register]
Sarasota - Bradenton - Venice area Manatee and Sarasota Counties
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-15-2007, 07:38 AM

155 posts, read 1,053,536 times

Advertisements

Plan on living in Northport,FL and was wondering what good companies are in Sarasota, FL for work? I have a 4year degree in Business Marketing 10 years customer service experience, 1 year management experience. Would like to get a job for a company that pays 30-35K, is this possible or is it mainly minimum wage jobs in this area? Thanks or the tips.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-15-2007, 07:56 AM

17,555 posts, read 39,200,231 times
Juno, it really is mostly minimum wage jobs, catering to tourists and wealthy retirees. My hubby and I lived there for 17 years, he is an architect with a 5-year degree and many years experience, but ended up having to commute to Tampa (one and one half hours) for a decent job.

A city like Tampa would be much better suited to your skills - I'm pretty sure there are large call centers there with good jobs where you can make that salary.

Old 05-06-2011, 11:24 AM

9 posts, read 21,306 times
30-35k in wages or wages and benefits? No difference; this is a ridiculously low amount given experience and education -- you may find it interesting that national nonsupervisory wages peaked in 1972. Another way to think of same, a single wage earner could support an entire household; a number of married women did work but didn't have to for economic reasons.