Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Tampa Bay
 [Register]
Tampa Bay Tampa - St. Petersburg - Clearwater
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-12-2013, 02:44 PM

153 posts, read 357,955 times

Advertisements

I have an Associates degree from 1993 in mechanical engineering and never really put it to use. I ended up working in the civil field (land surveying) for 12 years then had an opportunity to jump into the telecommunication line of work in 2005 as an independent contractor.

I was making @ $2,300 -$3,000 per 40 hr week within a year at the time, but after a few years of it the work (and heat) was getting harder and harder on my body, so I took a field supervisor position making @ $80K per year with 7% yearly increases. My wife has no degree and works in the dental field making @ $60K yearly. She has excelled in her position, been there for 15 years and is a great wife and mother to our 3 kids.

As our salaries grew over the years, our expenses didn't follow. We have always lived below our means, trimmed our expenses, saved and invested as much as possible. Even with 3 kids, we were saving more than other couples we knew with no kids and similar salaries. As our friends were partying it up for years and years, we were laying low and now it has caught up with them. We are now the ones who are enjoying our lives and looking to retire early while they are foreclosing on homes and going into bankruptcy.