Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-13-2012, 03:11 PM

2 posts, read 6,010 times

Advertisements

I graduated back in 2010 with BA in history/film. I worked in the entertainment industry for a little while, but decided I wanted to go back to school for education. I love history and English, and I think that I would really enjoy teaching. In the fall I'm enrolling in a certification/Masters program, so I will be cross-certified in secondary history and English. I was feeling pretty confident about my decision.

But then I come on here and it seems like everyone who works as a teacher hates their jobs. Is there anything you actually enjoy about it? Am I ruining my life by going into this field? The general consensus is that students today are lazy and disrespectful...do any teachers who post on here have generally well-behaved kids in their classes? I mean, I understand that teenagers are teenagers and some obnoxiousness is to be expected, but some of the horror stories I'm reading are freaking me out a little. I only graduated from high school a little less than six years ago, and my experience was that most kids were well-behaved, if a little apathetic and bored.