Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Vermont
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-19-2014, 06:05 PM

89 posts, read 112,606 times

Advertisements

We'd like to move to New England and currently live in NC. Empty nesters, income of 107K (husband is in IT, I'm an artist). I just can't take the heat and want a totally different lifestyle (had enough of the South). We don't want the big city. We would hope to make a little bit more but know the cost of living will be significantly more than here and the salary increase won't make up for the difference. I know taxes are higher, also. I'd like recommendations on areas where we could live comfortably on this income. Safe area, nice house, but nothing fancy, etc. We're only spending 15% of our income now on our house because we don't mind the simple life, but we do want something nice, at least 1400 sq. ft for about $225K which would make the mortgage be about 25% of net income.

He's in touch with an IT recruiter, and was flown up to Maine, but barely lost out to a local guy (we were told, anyway).

Maine is our first choice, but jobs are scarce, so we're also looking at Vermont and Massachusetts, as well as up-state New York, near the Vermont border. I think we'd love Vermont, too, and plan to visit this fall (have been to Maine twice, but never Vermont). Is New Hampshire mostly conservative?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-19-2014, 07:14 PM

5,439 posts, read 16,859,501 times