Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-22-2013, 01:50 PM

4,932 posts, read 12,755,796 times

Advertisements

Anyone know what the pay is like at retail stores like Target, Wal-Mart, Costco, Home Depot, Lowe's, and Kohl's? My dad says he thinks he heard they can make up to $75,000 at Target in CA.

I'm interning for an HR department at a large hospital and I would love to stay on at the hospital, but I'm not sure if they have an opening and also not sure if they like me that much. I'm pretty new to HR and even though I've worked in an office before as a phone receptionist, all of the HR work I'm so new at.

I know there is an insurance company that is doing a lot of hiring of new college grads. I did hear there is a hire turn over rate in these insurance companies.

Anyways, any ideas on the retail stores pay? Is their a high turn over rate there too?

I'm looking for work in Santa Maria, CA and I am a senior at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo with a major in Sociology and concentration in criminal justice, but I have taken some HR classes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-22-2013, 01:54 PM

25 posts, read 72,996 times
At one of my workplaces (which is a small, niche electronics retailer), there is a dedicated HR manager who handles scheduling, sexual harassment complaints, in addition to other retail duties that most store managers handle. Pay is approximately $20 to $25 an hour with 40 hours a week guaranteed, which overtime during the shopping season.