Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Writing
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-09-2009, 01:05 PM

3 posts, read 5,559 times

Advertisements

I graduated with a double major in professional writing and education. Teaching was my plan, but finding a job in education isn't working out too well, so I would like to explore my options. What kinds of jobs do graduates get with a bach. in professional writing? I know that my skills with language are valuable, but I don't know what fields to look into and what kind of jobs I could apply for.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-09-2009, 02:07 PM

40,050 posts, read 34,681,327 times
It's possible that you could try for the journalism field. But I should say that I tried to do the same thing, and ran right into a major-league sized Catch-22. Newspapers don't like to hire people without experience. But of course you can't get experience unless you work in the field. And so on, in circular fashion.

Old 07-09-2009, 03:31 PM

28,895 posts, read 54,281,786 times
Advertising is probably your best choice. By that, I don't mean writing cheesy car ads, but really going to agencies that value great work. I cut my teeth in that business before become a writer. Others have too. You learn to be highly aware of audience, the need for concision, and the ability to handle dialog if writing for broadcast. Plus if you are good at it, it's a lot more fun that being a teacher--pays better, too.

Old 07-09-2009, 07:23 PM

11,535 posts, read 30,350,993 times