Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-08-2013, 10:45 PM

2 posts, read 10,224 times

Advertisements

I am a elem teacher and we (husband and two teenage daughters) are thinking of moving to Lithia, Douglasville, or Mableton, Ga. We are African American, and want to live in a quiet area near the City of Atlanta but not in it.

We want to be in a city that has several libraries, Barnes and Nobles, Publixes, and clean spacious parks close by.

What are the pros and cons of Lithia, Douglasville, and Mableton, Ga.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-09-2013, 08:08 AM

9,191 posts, read 33,889,276 times
Moving to the Atlanta room (as these are suburbs of Atlanta).

Old 04-11-2013, 11:40 PM

106 posts, read 237,310 times
Mableton is ok and close to Smyrna and closest to ATL of the three.

Dville if farthest and more quiet. If u are on Chapel Hill side, I think it's the best choice.

Old 04-12-2013, 10:56 PM

2,613 posts, read 4,147,380 times
Just know that it is hard to sell a house in Atlanta bc of the surplus in inventory so be prepared to love wherever you buy bc you will pretty much be stuck with it for a good while. I'd look at the schools in the areas and weigh that heavily. I don't think these areas are known for having good schools....
Quote:
Originally Posted by alwaysreading View Post

What are the pros and cons of Lithia, Douglasville, and Mableton, Ga.

Old 04-13-2013, 04:34 AM

3,421 posts, read 5,220,909 times