Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-12-2013, 01:43 PM

1 posts, read 1,301 times

Advertisements

hello, austinites! (sorry to be so corny)

my fiance and i are currently living in brooklyn and are ready for a location change after our wedding in july. we were originally thinking LA, but the more we hear about austin, the more it seems like a pretty attractive option to us.

a little about us: i'm 28, he's 26. i am a student and will be receiving my associate degree at a community college this semester and i also work as an administrative assistant at an office. my fiance graduated with a degree in film and now works for A&E Networks as an editor. we're into dive bars, live music, craft beer, and fun outdoor activities.

question 1) how are the job opportunities for someone who has a degree and experience in the film industry? what my fiance really wants to do is cinematography, but he has experience in almost every aspect of production and post-production. we need to be in a place where he can find work. i'll likely be pursuing my bachelor's degree and working part time, so he'll have to be the breadwinner for a while.

question 2) what kind of day or weekend trips can we take from austin? here in brooklyn we're in a city but can take trips to the mountains for snowboarding or hiking, the beach, etc. what do you guys do for weekend trips away?

thanks in advance for any input : )
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-12-2013, 01:53 PM

3,836 posts, read 5,731,852 times
Quote: