U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Automotive
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 07-05-2017, 07:27 AM
 
3,586 posts, read 1,779,368 times
Reputation: 1441

Advertisements

2002 Acura RL - VSA Indicator Light On is on, the car has 155,000 miles. The dealer said " It's the cable reel and its about a $800 fix." The mechanic said "it's Ok to drive the car with the VSA indicator light on."


Should I repair or drive as is?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-05-2017, 08:47 AM
 
Location: Akron, OH
1,567 posts, read 1,473,061 times
Reputation: 815
Do your brakes work fine?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-06-2017, 11:18 AM
 
3,586 posts, read 1,779,368 times
Reputation: 1441
Quote:
Originally Posted by ma5cmpb View Post
Do your brakes work fine?



Yes!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-06-2017, 11:26 AM
 
9,945 posts, read 14,117,896 times
Reputation: 10857
Vehicle stability is based off signals sent from ABS sensors. This is how VSA computer knows which wheel slips. Sensors get dirty and start sending false or no signal. Normally, they are very easy to remove and clean. Also, harness is sometime damaged or pinched.
I'd start there.

https://www.thoughtco.com/how-to-cle...-sensor-281744
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-06-2017, 11:34 AM
 
9,945 posts, read 14,117,896 times
Reputation: 10857
Not to forget. ABS code reader should pull error code that caused light. Good starting point. Has to be ABS/CAN BUS capable reader.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-06-2017, 08:29 PM
 
3,586 posts, read 1,779,368 times
Reputation: 1441
Quote:
Originally Posted by ukrkoz View Post
Not to forget. ABS code reader should pull error code that caused light. Good starting point. Has to be ABS/CAN BUS capable reader.

Is it advisable to take the car on a 3 hour round-trip with the VSA light on?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-06-2017, 09:21 PM
 
2,952 posts, read 1,228,918 times
Reputation: 3287
Three things to try.
Did you press the vsa button, right next to the cruise control? That id the traction on and off switch.

Is your brake fluid filled?
Are the brake light bulbs working?

After all this, if you have the radio code, disconnect battery and let it sit , 15 minutes, for a factory reset.

There is also a few forums to research, search acura rl forum, and research .

Nothing should cost you $800 , unless it is MAJOR.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-07-2017, 07:18 AM
 
1,700 posts, read 2,044,860 times
Reputation: 2593
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapikap View Post
Three things to try.
Did you press the vsa button, right next to the cruise control? That id the traction on and off switch.

Is your brake fluid filled?
Are the brake light bulbs working?

After all this, if you have the radio code, disconnect battery and let it sit , 15 minutes, for a factory reset.

There is also a few forums to research, search acura rl forum, and research .

Nothing should cost you $800 , unless it is MAJOR.
If you have repeatedly entered the wrong code, then, yes, you will run out of opportunities to enter the code unless you disconnect the battery. You don't have to wait 15 minutes. One minute or less.

Why would checking the VSA cause you to need the radio code reentered? Diagnosing VSA should not require a battery disconnect which is how a radio code is lost.

Don in Austin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-07-2017, 03:54 PM
 
9,945 posts, read 14,117,896 times
Reputation: 10857
Quote:
Originally Posted by tillman7 View Post
Is it advisable to take the car on a 3 hour round-trip with the VSA light on?

Not really. Thing is, computer may decide to put your car into limp mode. It's vehicle stability control, but who knows. All computers are talking to each other via CAN BUS so who knows, what safeguard may kick in.
Of course, it may not.
But...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-07-2017, 05:47 PM
 
2,952 posts, read 1,228,918 times
Reputation: 3287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don in Austin View Post
If you have repeatedly entered the wrong code, then, yes, you will run out of opportunities to enter the code unless you disconnect the battery. You don't have to wait 15 minutes. One minute or less.

Why would checking the VSA cause you to need the radio code reentered? Diagnosing VSA should not require a battery disconnect which is how a radio code is lost.

Don in Austin
Lets forget about the radio for a moment. I suggest resetting things, after all i mentioned were tried first.

I own an 03' rl, and drive with traction control off for 2 years now. I only have it on for rain/ light snow.no problems here.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply

Quick Reply
Message:


Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Automotive
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2018, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top