Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-24-2020, 09:36 PM

49 posts, read 58,050 times

Advertisements

Hello all,

I am considering a move to Fresno. I have a college degree from Berkeley as well as tech sales experience. I am capable of getting approved for a loan up to 525,000 and I hear that North Fresno is the place in California where that amount can take me the farthest. At first I dismissed Fresno but after thinking about it:

1 million metro
Big fish in small pond (20% of people have a college degree apparently)
Bigger house than anything I can buy at any other major metropolitan area (maybe rent out some rooms and have a cheap mortgage)

I think its worth considering. The things I look for are relatively simple: I like nightlife and want to meet women and go out drinking. I am a shallow guy, thats pretty much it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-25-2020, 08:33 AM

102,202 posts, read 107,842,460 times
I would rent first, give yourself a year to decide if you like Fresno and your job there, whatever job you find. Because if you get carried away with your credit-worthiness & buying power, then you'll be stuck with a house in Fresno, if you find out you hate it.

The only 25-yr-olds from Fresno I've known got the heck out of there by 25, transferring to Berkeley or U of WA in Seattle, to finish grad school. They never looked back.

Still, for a recent grad with marketable job skills, it could be a good place to spend a few years building career experience.