U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Celebrating Veterans Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 03-03-2014, 02:21 PM
 
2,709 posts, read 3,001,518 times
Reputation: 1225

Advertisements

Is there a way to shut down the computer with Windows 7 when the mouse isn't working? A friend is telling me she can do that with XP but the Start menu is quite different there and her method would not work in 7, we think.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 03-03-2014, 03:02 PM
 
Location: Wandering.
3,544 posts, read 5,676,746 times
Reputation: 2654
Hit the Windows Key (or CTL + ESC)
Hit the Right arrow twice
Use the arrow keys to select your option.
Hit Enter.


Alternately

With no other windows open (on the desktop):
Hold down the ALT Key, and press the F4 key.
If the selection isn't shut down, then you can use TAB to move around to the drop down and select the option you want.
Hit Enter.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-03-2014, 03:56 PM
 
2,709 posts, read 3,001,518 times
Reputation: 1225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunk Workz View Post
Hit the Windows Key (or CTL + ESC)
Hit the Right arrow twice
Use the arrow keys to select your option.
Hit Enter.


Alternately

With no other windows open (on the desktop):
Hold down the ALT Key, and press the F4 key.
If the selection isn't shut down, then you can use TAB to move around to the drop down and select the option you want.
Hit Enter.
That first one is what my friend says she does on XP. But, will the arrows key select those items in the menu and let you work down to the Shut Down bar at the bottom? Will they actually "select" the Shut Down bar which is so different? I've not tried it - being "chicken".

On the second, are you using the arrows keys again after F4?

Thanks. I'll try those and save them also.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-03-2014, 05:57 PM
 
10,752 posts, read 17,997,204 times
Reputation: 10244
Even simpler solution than trying to remember keystrokes, set your power button to shut down the computer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-03-2014, 06:34 PM
 
3,201 posts, read 3,643,596 times
Reputation: 4419
yep, that's how my computers are setup

power button = shutdown
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-04-2014, 06:29 AM
 
2,709 posts, read 3,001,518 times
Reputation: 1225
"Power button"? The bar that says "Shut Down"? Fine but you have to tell it to shut down. The usual way is to click it. In the situation I am describing, the mouse has stopped working. You cannot click the button. There is no mouse arrow available.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-04-2014, 06:36 AM
 
10,752 posts, read 17,997,204 times
Reputation: 10244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hazel W View Post
"Power button"? The bar that says "Shut Down"? Fine but you have to tell it to shut down. The usual way is to click it. In the situation I am describing, the mouse has stopped working. You cannot click the button. There is no mouse arrow available.
No, the power button on the computer that you press to turn it on, it can also turn it off if set properly in power options.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-04-2014, 06:54 AM
 
2,709 posts, read 3,001,518 times
Reputation: 1225
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHDave View Post
No, the power button on the computer that you press to turn it on, it can also turn it off if set properly in power options.
Oh, for pity's sake. I knew that! Too early in the morning. That's another whole story, though. Later.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-04-2014, 08:49 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,814 posts, read 13,951,598 times
Reputation: 8047
CONTROL ATL DELETE... TAB over to the Red.... Ah Nevermind. Just press the POWER button on the machine for 4 seconds.


Stop being "chicken". You're not going to break it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-04-2014, 09:18 AM
 
2,709 posts, read 3,001,518 times
Reputation: 1225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
CONTROL ATL DELETE... TAB over to the Red.... Ah Nevermind. Just press the POWER button on the machine for 4 seconds.


Stop being "chicken". You're not going to break it.
All right. I'm being forced into the second question. My friend says that, on Win 7, you must not shut down using the power button. It will cause other problems. So, has anyone who has Win 7 shut down this way with no problems next time you booted up?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:29 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top