Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-20-2015, 03:16 AM

3 posts, read 2,775 times

Advertisements

Hi, I'm new to the situation of filing taxes (and to this board) that entail a capital gain and I'm wondering if anyone has any insight.

If a capital gain ends up not having to be taxed (we're in the 15% bracket), why does this amount have to be added onto taxable income on Form 1040? This does not make any sense to me at all. It seems contradictory!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-20-2015, 03:38 AM

106,680 posts, read 108,856,202 times
funny ,i was just replying on another thread to this exact same thing.

capital gains are first figuerd on schedule d with results put on your 1040.

michael kitces gave a good explanation as to how the zero capital gains tax brackets work. it can be tricky as to how it is calculated when you have other ordinary income .

a couple today can have 50k in income and have a 50k long term capital gain and pay as little as 4-5% effective tax rate on everything in total to the fed.

but remember state taxes you fully on that 100k income less deductions and the special capital gains rates do not apply.

when you have other income the ordinary income fills up the tax brackets first .

as michael illustrates with the tax brackets of 2014 , a couple with 50k ordinary income and 50k in long term capital gains will have 50k in income less about 23k in standard deductions and exemptions so they will 29,700 in taxable income that the 50k in capital gains go on top of.