Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-29-2018, 06:21 PM

6,885 posts, read 7,887,329 times

Advertisements

I'm an elementary school teacher and I will never teach in a school where anyone is armed. Never.

To say that elementary schools should have armed guards to prevent another Sandy Hook is to say that armed guards should patrol every place in the entire country.

We are all much more likely to be killed in the car on the way to school.

If a school is that dangerous, do something about preventing dangerous people from entering the building. It's ridiculous to say we need armed guards as a knee jerk reaction to violence without considering the cost. I think it's safe to assume that in general people who think we need armed guards are conservatives who don't want their taxes raised. I'd like to know how they intend to work around that!

If it comes down to paying an armed guard or a counselor/social worker, I'll take the counselor every time. And I'm willing to pay more taxes for that!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-29-2018, 06:30 PM

45,355 posts, read 60,546,019 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stagemomma View Post
I'm an elementary school teacher and I will never teach in a school where anyone is armed. Never.

To say that elementary schools should have armed guards to prevent another Sandy Hook is to say that armed guards should patrol every place in the entire country.

We are all much more likely to be killed in the car on the way to school.