Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Europe
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-23-2013, 03:18 PM

22 posts, read 23,380 times

Advertisements

In a few days, I will be leaving for Spain for a 5 week study abroad. This is my first time A.) traveling outside my country (the U.S.) and B.) flying in an airplane. The town I will be staying in is Salamanca and there will be trips to Madrid, Pamplona, Barcelona, Segovia and possibly to Italy.

Does anyone have any advice on how to carry oneself when in Europe? How not to be an "ugly american"? Can anyone who has been to Spain tell me of their experience?

Most importantly, the flight is 12 hours. Is there anything I should know about flying?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-23-2013, 03:42 PM

1,646 posts, read 3,488,519 times
About fliying: take a book, music, or have a relaxing tea to sleep suring the flight.

About the trip: good choices, Salamanca is a good place to study, university town. Can you speak Spanish? It will be really really useful

Enjoy your trip.

Old 06-23-2013, 10:20 PM

25,021 posts, read 27,938,262 times
How not to be an ugly American, you ask? The only thing you need to concern yourself with is don't be all "Back home we did things this way and that way and you're doing it wrong". That's about it. You needn't concern yourself, the Brits take most of the heat since they do that all the time

Old 06-23-2013, 11:25 PM

14,773 posts, read 21,504,427 times