Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Exercise and Fitness
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-23-2011, 02:30 PM

432 posts, read 3,658,027 times

Advertisements

I've been running 5km once a week for about 3 months now. Every time, after about 1 mile i get this shooting pain on the left side of my left leg, and it hurts from about the knee to the ankle on that side of the leg. It almost becomes impossible to walk, much less run. It has been doing this since i started running, but i tried to mentally block it out but i suspect something is wrong. Any ideas what it could be?

Thanks for any input!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-23-2011, 07:35 PM

3,360 posts, read 8,387,108 times
Is it mostly centered in the knee and the radiates downward? When you get up from a seated position, does your knee pop or make a noise? Does your left leg ever give way when you're just casually walking around the house? If you answer these, it will help.

Old 01-23-2011, 07:46 PM

No, the knee feels great, it's the muscle on the left side of the leg, almost like it is going to explode.

Old 01-23-2011, 07:54 PM

929 posts, read 1,902,079 times
yikes! if you dig into the left side of your left leg with a softball (or some other implement) does it trigger pain down at your foot?

Old 01-24-2011, 08:00 AM

no, putting pressure on it doesnt hurt it, but i feel the muscle bulging as if i was trying to flex it.

Old 01-24-2011, 12:44 PM

1,031 posts, read 2,446,946 times